Greatest Hits III

Hi folks. Today I’m going to talk about Greatest Hits III, as I have some questions about why it was released in the first place. It’s not that I don’t like it, but this is a rather unusual compilation, including not just Queen music, but solo material from Brian and Freddie and some live and at least one newly remixed track for this compilation.

I discovered it in a used record store in Hamilton Ontario in December 1999, while out and about on a Saturday. I had found out about Greatest Hits III by accident, as someone who worked at the store who knows what I like, had pointed me to it and I had purchased it, along with Monty Python’s Contractual Obligation Album, with the murder of John Denver on it. I know that it was sad when John Denver passed away in 1997, but this was funny and it shouldn’t have been removed. Instead, it should have been left where it was, with a message reminding the listener that it wasn’t really John Denver being strangled. In other words, break the fourth wall in this case. This goes for more recent versions of this album and I hope that the original track listing will return one day, because it was an original part of the album and with the fourth wall break message. Anyway, I digress.

Greatest Hits III was released on November 8th 1999 while nü metal was on fire and some older bands were making a return to the mainstream, of sorts. For example: Def Leppard releasing their album Euphoria in June of 1999 and a bunch of hair metal bands getting back together, to do Tours starting from 2000 and beyond. Plus, the fall release schedule was packed full, with a bunch of new albums by huge bands and even a live album by Metallica and Marilyn Manson were also a part of the schedule. So, I was surprised when I found out that a new Queen compilation had come out.

I am not surprised as to what is on it, because not all that much had come out since Greatest Hits II besides solo work from Brian and posthumously, from Freddie. What really got my attention was the inclusion of the single version of Thank God It’s Christmas at the end and that was a welcome surprise.

As for the rest of the track listing, I had no idea that Las Palabras de Amor (The Words of Love) was released as a single, as Hot Space didn’t do as well as it probably could have done. The same can be said for Princes of the Universe, as I had no idea that it was even a single at all. Back then, there was no Wikipedia and no way for people like me, to look up the history of a band like Queen.

The inclusion of Another One Bites the Dust (feat. Wyclef Jean & Pras Michel) wasn’t at all surprising, as it may not have been a big hit single, but it was on a movie soundtrack in 1998. Including No One But You (Only the Good Die Young) was cool, as it is the final song with Deacy on bass. I am glad that These Are the Days of Our Lives was also on here, as we in North America should have got Greatest Hits II and the British Greatest Hits from 1981, instead of Classic Queen and what I am going to refer to as, Killer Queen, released in September 1992.

The Show Must Go On with Elton John was an interesting choice, to start off this compilation as the original appeared as the penultimate track on GH II. However, the only song I take any issue with is Under Pressure (Rah Mix). I know some people like it, but I am not fond of it all that much. I would have prefered that the version from Classic Queen be put on here instead, as it brings out Brian’s guitar more than the original. This is silly and makes the song sound goofier, then it actually is. Actually, it’s not at all goofy!

Everything else is not surprising, despite the inclusion of the solo material from Freddie and Bryan, along with 4 Made In Heaven singles and Somebody To Love with George Michael. Unfortunately, it’s the single edit and not the album version with George talking before the song starts. That is on the compilation Ladies And Gentlemen… The Best Of George Michael, Album • George Michael. I understand exactly why every song by Freddie and Brian were included and I have no problem with that, even though this is rather unusual. However, under the circumstances it actually makes this album interesting.

On the other hand, I wonder why this album was released and at that time. Was it because of the possible induction of Queen into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame? Was it just because and Jim Beach wanted to try and get something out before the end of the 90s? I’m just curious because of the timing of when this compilation was unleashed and what was included. I appreciate this album even more, thanks to The Platinum Collection (Greatest Hits I, II & III) and yet, I didn’t purchase it until November 2014, on iTunes. That was probably the first Queen album with CD quality sound, which I had purchased on iTunes at that time. I was disgusted that I had purchased all of the albums and they all sounded like crap. This collection was a welcome relief and I would obviously, eventually purchase all of the albums again, with much better sound quality with the label “Apple Digital Master” on all of them in 2022. Of course, I would purchase all 3 GH packages separately during the summer. Why not? I wanted everything and I wouldn’t stop until I had everything that I could get, which I didn’t have already. I had all of the live albums, so I went after all of the studio material and this included all 3 GH compilations and now, I am happy.

We will probably never get another GH compilation like this in the future, because there is simply no new Queen music, or not enough to justify such a compilation coming out, unless it is a money grab. That was my other question about GH III, but I didn’t want to go there. At least we have the Deep Cuts Volumes 1, 2 and 3, along with Queen Forever. I am happy with what we have for now and I hope that we get more music in the future, before the world goes completely crazy.

Published by blindgordie

I am a blind at birth human and love to write. I have many interests and they are all in all 4 blogs I have here. Hopefully you enjoy reading them as much as I have had both fun and a hard time putting together each post.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started