iOS 17.1 Trouble

Hi folks. I have iOS 17.1 and I like it. However, one thing troubles me and this has been an issue with iOS 12 and its early incarnations and it involves the Music app and unfortunately, my Queen collection is affected..

If you have a collection of albums by an artist and possibly their entire discography, you know that any album should appear as one collection of songs, making up an entire piece of work. Some albums had been broken up for some odd reason with iOS 17.1 and the same thing had occurred with iOS 12 and the later half of iOS 11. I don’t know why, but it just happened. The splits are seemingly random and uneven. The worst of the worst of this is Live Magic which had been broken into 3 albums, with some songs, others on another piece and what is left of the album, on the third chunk.I had discovered this with my queen collection and other artists too. I had noticed that a bunch of albums had appeared more than once. Some albums had most of the songs, while the rest of a particular album made up what was left of a particular piece of work, such as Live Magic and many others.

Fortunately, iTunes is not broken and every album shows up normally, except for maybe a few I had purchased a song off of an alternate, or newly found version with the normal album years ago. This includes the deluxe versions of every Queen album and The Best Of Freddie, with two different titles. I had initially thought that iTunes was broken, forgetting that I had purchased an album in 2016 and only 1 song from the newly released version. I don’t know if this is strictly a software issue or bug, but if so, I hope that there will be some sort of update, or patch to fix this issue. I tested this with an older iPhone which is still relevant to iOS 17 and the result is the same, as I had briefly checked iTunes and the same albums are not split into pieces and when downloading them again from the test device, everything is like it was before iOS 17.1. I tested this with Queen (of course and every album showed up once as it should. So, fortunately, this did not affect iTunes and only the Music app. The only way to fix this problem was to erase the iPhone, use the iCloud backup to install everything on the iPhone as it was and all better now.

I had been on an album kick for a few days back in June and July and obviously, listening to an album without key songs on it, breaks up the flow and then finding the rest as a part of the same album (elsewhere) is certainly troubling. Sadly, not many people will report this to Apple because of our obsession with singles and streaming. I hope that somebody sees this post and reports the issue to Apple for me, because I can’t do it. I can’t be brief and I have to be descriptive, or else people will ask questions and it will take longer for the problem to be fixed.

This simply must be rectified and I hope that it is, by either iOS 17.2, or if possible sooner than that. Restarting the iPhone is not going to do it so, it will take a major software update to fix this issue. I will certainly report this to any Youtuber who asks how we are enjoying iOS 17.1, because they should know about it too and besides, it’s a mess that needs to be cleaned up fast.

Published by blindgordie

I am a blind at birth human and love to write. I have many interests and they are all in all 4 blogs I have here. Hopefully you enjoy reading them as much as I have had both fun and a hard time putting together each post.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started